Can You Respond To The Legend Rule?

Can you respond to the legend rule? The Legend Rule is a state-based action (SBA), which are checked and performed each time a player receives priority. SBAs do not use the stack and can not be responded to, but enters the battlefield triggers will still be placed on the stack.

In this manner, What counts as dying in MTG?

A creature or planeswalker “dies” if it is put into a graveyard from the battlefield. See rule 700.4. 700.4. The term dies means “is put into a graveyard from the battlefield.”

As well as, How does the legendary rule work? Legend rule. If a player controls two or more legendary permanents of the same name when state-based effects are checked, that player chooses one of those permanents and immediately puts the others into their owners' graveyards, without any player having an opportunity to respond.

Besides, Does the legend rule cause death?

Yes. A creature dies when it moves from the battlefield to the graveyard, for any reason. As long as the creature goes directly to the graveyard, yes.

Can Moritte copy legendary creatures?

If Moritte copies a nonlegendary permanent, you'll control two permanents with same name, but only one of them (Moritte) will be legendary. If Moritte copies a creature, it enters with two +1/+1 counters on it, plus any counters that will be put on it by abilities it copied or abilities of other objects.

Related Question for Can You Respond To The Legend Rule?


Does sacrifice count as destroy?

Sacrificing a permanent doesn't destroy it, so regeneration or other effects that replace destruction can't affect this action.


Are Legends legendary creatures?

History. Legendary creatures and lands were introduced in 1994 with Legends, the game's third expansion set. Although some cards printed prior to Legends represent unique individuals and would logically have been legendary, they were and are still treated as non-legendary.


Can Mirage mirror copy graveyard?

Mirage Mirror will wind up as a copy of the permanent targeted by the last ability to resolve. If Mirage Mirror becomes a copy of an Aura, it's put into its owner's graveyard unless it's somehow attached to an appropriate object or player already.


Can you use a planeswalker ability the turn it comes out?

Yes. Just remember that Planeswalker abilities can only be activated at sorcery speed. (On your turn when the stack is empty.)


Does exiling count as leaving the battlefield?

Where it goes doesn't matter. That means, that any zone changes from the battlefield count as leaving the battlefield (so going to hand, library, graveyard, exile, or command zone).


Does sacrifice count as damage MTG?

Sacrificing a permanent doesn't destroy it, so regeneration or other effects that replace destruction can't affect this action. Sometimes-relevant corner cases: Tokens disappear when they leave the battlefield, but they still count as going to the graveyard, so you do get Captain triggers.


Can you sacrifice as an instant?

You can certainly sacrifice a creature any time you have priority. This is the same rule that lets you play instants during combat.


Can I regenerate a destroyed creature?

You can't regenerate a destroyed creature because it's already dead and gone so there's nothing to regenerate. This means that you have to grant regeneration before lethal is dealt. Regeneration functions as a “replacement effect”, meaning that the effect waits for one conditional event to replace with another.


Can all Planeswalkers be commanders?

A planeswalker can be a commander if the card says that they can be a commander. Most planeswalkers cannot be a commander because the rules committee banned them from being commanders. However, Wizards makes planeswalker cards that can be commanders, so they are the exception.


Can you copy a commander?

No, only your own original commander counts.

Generally, if the Lieutenant ability refers to your Commander, then the opponent's Commander would not count, since it's not yours, even if it has the same name. Also, a clone of your Commander would not count, because the Commander-ness of a card cannot be copied.


Can mirror image copy a legendary creature?

Hey.So according to the legend rule : Only one copy of a given legendary card may be in control by a same player at the same time. The cards must have exactly the same name in order to trigger the legend rule.


Was this helpful?

0 / 0

Leave a Reply 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *